A New Coat of Paint (or Two)

Last week’s project was painting the living room and dining room. As you may have seen in other posts, the living room and dining room were all a dreary sage green and the living room had brown curtains. Drab and dull and not my speed. I wanted to brighten up the place and ultimately ended up decided to paint three walls in each room white (Glidden White on White) and the fourth wall Caribbean Blue (another Glidden color). I wanted a bright color but the area just seemed too small to paint all the walls the bright blue and I didn’t want the entire room white. The area is much brighter now and I love the color choices! I still have a bit of touch-up work to do, the “hallway” downstairs needs another coat and some trim work, and the upstairs stairwell needs to be painted. The window trim in both rooms needs re-painting as well.

Other plans for the living room and dining room include getting new curtains (that aren’t brown), a new (at least to us) couch, and possibly other new furniture pieces if I find something that catches my eye.

I have yet to have a sunny day where I’ve had a chance to take a good pictures of the new look so for now you’ll have to use your imagination. We’ve had an exceptionally rainy/wet spring here and we seem to average about one sunny and warm day followed by five rainy, cloudy, cold days. Once I have a sunny day and five minutes, I’ll take a few pictures and get them posted for you to see.

Leave a Reply

